Blog Tour: Searching for a Silver Lining | Miranda Dickinson

Well hello there my lovely fellow bookish people, today is a very special day because I have one of my favourite authors here with a wonderful guest post for you all to enjoy. Miranda Dickinson is a Sunday Times best selling author and her 8th noverl 'Searching for a Silver Lining is out tomorrow (20th Oct). 

Have you written an actual song for The Silver Five, the band at the centre of Searching for a Silver Lining – and can we hear it?

Yes, I have! In the story, The Silver Five – a singing group who found fame in the early 1950s during the rise of British rock’n’roll – have one huge hit that reaches number one and makes their name. It’s called Because You Loved Me. In later years it's covered by countless artists, including Elvis Presley, Dame Shirley Bassey, Dolly Parton, Tom Jones and a host of other stars, making it a huge, worldwide hit.

As the song becomes the favourite song of Mattie Bell’s late Grandpa Joe (and a key link with Reenie Silver) and reappears throughout the book, I felt I couldn't write the story without knowing what the song sounded like. I’ve been a singer-songwriter since I was 19, so writing a song alongside the book was the most natural thing to do.

It was fascinating to return to all the wonderful 1950s music I love so much and work out what it was about the songs that made them so quintessentially Fifties’ sounding. Part of it was the way in which they were recorded: often in only a few takes, in mono rather than stereo, with specific instruments played in the same room as the singer. But also the vocal style was different, with close harmonies, almost crooner-like swoops up to the note and certain chords that modern pop and rock songs just don't use any more.

At the time of writing this, I’m just about to go into the studio to record Because You Loved Me – I’m so excited! It really helped me to picture The Silver Five to hum their song as I was writing, so I can’t wait for my readers to listen to it while they are reading the book! Keep watching my vlogs at and my Twitter (@wurdsmyth) and Facebook posts (MirandaDickinsonAuthor) to find out where you’ll be able to download the song for free!

Thanks so much for reading this blog exclusive! For more, follow my Searching for a Silver Lining blog tour. I really hope you enjoy Mattie’s story! 

About the book

It began with a promise . . . 

Matilda Bell is left heartbroken when she falls out with her beloved grandfather just before he dies. Haunted by regret, she makes a promise that will soon change everything . . .

When spirited former singing star Reenie Silver enters her life, Mattie seizes the opportunity to make amends. Together, Mattie and Reenie embark on an incredible journey that will find lost friends, uncover secrets from the glamorous 1950s and put right a sixty-year wrong.

Touchingly funny, warm and life-affirming, this is a sparkling story of second chances. Perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern, Searching for a Silver Lining will take you on a trip you'll never forget.

About the author

Miranda Dickinson has always had a head full of stories. From an early age she dreamed of writing a book that would make the heady heights of Kingswinford Library and today she is a bestselling author. She began to write in earnest when a friend gave her The World's Slowest PC, and has subsequently written the bestselling novelsFairytale of New YorkWelcome to My WorldIt Started With a KissWhen I Fall in LoveTake A Look At Me Now,I'll Take New York and A Parcel for Anna Browne. Miranda lives with her husband Bob and daughter Flo in Dudley. 

Author Guest Post: Plenty More Fish Fingers in the Sea: Introducing the Break-Up Diet | Lorelei Mathias

Morning folks, I am very happy to say that today I have a wonderful guest post from the lovely Lorelei Mathias who is the author of 'Break-Up Club'. It's a fab post about how food plays an important role in any break-up. So make yourself a cuppa, get cpmfy and enjoy.
‘Plenty More Fish Fingers in the Sea: Introducing the Break-Up Diet’ – by Lorelei Mathias, author of Break-Up Club

“So what’s your secret?’ Harry asked in his best mock-Gok.

Bella smiled. ‘I’m calling it the Break-up Diet. All the slebs are doing it. Last month was the Five-Two – this month it’s the Misery Plan.’

Food plays an important role in any conscious uncoupling, doesn’t it? In Break Up Club the characters tend to swing daily between grief-induced starvation and comfort eating. Clearly, food and our emotions are inextricably intertwined. With that in mind, here’s how to get yourself through 'The Sad Gap' to the other side, where ‘happy’ you is waiting!

Phase One - ‘The Break Up Diet’ (weeks 1-2)

OK, you’re broken. You can’t eat because there is a big glacial rock where your intestines should be. So instead you begin a nutrition plan more ferocious than the 5-2 and the Montignac put together.

‘I’m serious. No food has passed my lips in days. Unless you count my own mucous, from crying so much,’ Bella said. ‘Does nasal mucous have any nutritional value?’

Sorry, that was gross - I promise the rest of this blog will be mouth-watering!
To this end, here is your shopping list for Phase One:

- Negroni – this cocktail is your friend because it has NO MIXERS. You heard me – it’s straight up oblivion. You’ll need 1x bottle of Campari, Martini Rosso and Gin of your choice.
- Prosecco, lots of.

For the mornings:

- Diet Coke (or Fat)
- To keep your stomach lining from eating itself, and for nausea prevention:

- Actimel pro-biotic drinks,
- Yoghurt
- ginger biscuits
- Mini cheddars
- bananas
- Soups
- Smoothies

Essentially, you’re regressing to the diet of a toddler, and that’s totes fine. For now.

Phase Two – Carb-loading (weeks 2-4)
The great news is that the big glacier in your belly will eventually melt, as you start to come to terms with your ‘new normal’. By now, the Food-Gates are ajar enough to squeeze some ACTUAL SOLIDS in. And here’s where you can reward yourself with the fattiest, cosiest food imaginable. Why? Because you’ve got a WHOLE TWO WEEKS worth of Calorie Credits!

Go nuts on:

-Cheese, all of the cheese
-Ben and Jerry’s Chocolate Fudge Brownie
-Mars ice cream
-More Cheese – Take That if necessary
-Butterkist Microwave Popcorn (butter)
-Macaroni cheese
-Garlic bread
-Treat yourself to a Camembert roaster. Drizzle with rosemary and garlic. Dip all manner of kettle chips into it.

Phase Three – Fill the nutrition deficit (week 4…)

It’s time to start showing some love to your poor body, and reacquainting your cells with their old friend, nutrition. Start exercising lots and feeding your body with the good stuff. Then you'll realise you're actually self-sufficient and don't need another human to make you whole! From green peas to fresh fish, the aisles are stuffed with plenty of natural highs and 'Good mood foods' to get you happy again in a non-bingey, boozy way.

With that in mind, here's a suggested meal-plan. **Dons Jarvis Cocker dulcet tones**:

Breakfast: Grapefruit halves, topped with caramelised Demerara sugar. Grill until golden brown. Perfectly bittersweet; just like the end of love.

Lunch – A spinach, rocket, beetroot, avocado salad, with omega seeds, olive oil, balsamic, and Fish Fingers. This’ll give you a nice boost of brain food, so that your head can tell your heart: you are indeed better off without that douchebag!

Dinner – Salmon and leek in a garlic, pesto, white wine and sour cream sauce (tweet me for my recipe) (@loreleimathias), with Arborio rice.

It’s honestly delicious, healthy and guaranteed to cheer you up. Not only that, 'All the food groups and ingredients are represented’ - as they say in The Breakfast Club. Even self-love; which we all know is the most important ingredient.

About the Book

Holly Braithwaite and loveable loser Lawrence have been together for five years. But the obvious cracks in their relationship can no longer be ignored and Holly soon finds herself saying ‘it’s not you, it’s me.’
In the shock aftermath of their break up, Holly finds unlikely companions in Olivia, Harry and Bella. Together, they form the Break-up Club, as they support each other through their mutual melancholy and find ways to love, laugh and function as human beings again.
Break-up Club meets every Sunday. Each week, as the comedy and drama unfolds, they discover a new BUC ‘rule’. And, one by one, the rules become vital markers on their journey to recovery . . .
To our members, we’re the first emergency service

You’d be DAFT to miss out on this fab book – it’s blimmin’ marvellous! I LOVED it!
Miranda Dickinson

‘A light-hearted read about the power of friendship to see you through a tough time and out the other side, ‘ Daily Mail

Sparky dialogue and a lovely depiction of friendship. I loved this!
Katie Fforde

Made me want to break up with someone, just so I could join the club immediately. Part comedy, part self-help, but wholly fabulous. Funny, warm and heartfelt. 
B & H Independent

Fearlessly funny, this book was such a pleasure to read I have to give a rare 5 stars. Perfect balance between exaggeration for humour and “I’ve been there” real-life believability. Erin Lawless

About the Author
Lorelei Mathias grew up in ‘Metroland’ before studying English & Philosophy at Birmingham University. Since then she has worked in London as a Copywriter in Publishing and Advertising, and co-written a blog for Campaign Magazine.
Her first novel Step on it, Cupid, was published when she was 25, followed by Lost for Words. Break-Up Club explores the importance of friendship, and was inspired by her experiences in an accidental break-up club of her own.