Book Review: Truly, Madly, Greekly | Mandy Baggot

16:53 Daniel Riding 1 Comments

Sun, sea and a sexy stranger - a whole lot of fun just got a lot more complicated

Capable, confident and career-driven, Ellen had her dream job and a marriage proposal from boyfriend Ross. Life was good, her future set. Until it wasn’t and everything fell apart…

Whisked off to the beautiful island of Corfu to plan her sister Lacey’s big, fat, Greek wedding, Ellen is hoping some time out will help clear her head and heal her heart. But letting go of her past is not going to be easy.

With Lacey in full on Bridezilla mode, Ellen is soon distracted from her own problems. And when the all-inclusive treats on offer at hotel Blue Vue include one gorgeous, brooding Adonis – Yan – Ellen finds him difficult to resist.

But Ellen isn’t looking for love or lust, or anything involving too much ouzo…or is she?

Fans of Lucy Diamond, Miranda Dickinson and Lindsey Kelk will want to escape to Corfu with Mandy Baggot this summer.

This fabulous book was sent to me by 'Bookouture' via Netgalley for an honest review.

As Many of you are aware, I am a glutton for romantic comedy style novels and from the moment I had 'Truly, Madly Greekly' in my TBR pile it was taunting me with it's sunny goodness. Finally when the time came to read it, I settled down and allowed myself to be washed over by the romantic waves of Corfu.

Ellen is our lovely if not a little uptight leading lady and she is accompanying her sister Lacey on a pre wedding trip to Corfu to take the reins on the organising of Lacey's impending wedding to Mark. This is exactly the kind of distraction that Ellen needs after a failed relationship, and a potentially life changing crisis at her alleged dream job.

This break away may just be the thing for Ellen, a lovely hotel, lovely beaches and rich blue waters. Another thing that may be very good for her is the obscenely beautiful and ever so sweet Yan. While Yan is a beautiful creature, he is also someone with a calming and beautiful soul and what they find in each other is something beautiful that either of them never knew they needed.

The relationship between Ellen and Yan doesn't get off to the most wonderful of starts as she mistakes him for a thief upon their first meeting. This is one of many hilarious moments between them, and you have to keep an eye out for how many times goats are mentioned. It may sound random but these were some very funny moments. My favourite one was where Yan took ellen to see the deserted church. I find that moment hilarious and utterly charming.

You can't help but root for Ellen as she progressive softens during the book, she books much less stressed and starts to realise that to be successful in life may not be what she originally thought it was. Her priorities change as does her outlook on life and how she is and who she wants to be as a person. These are all wonderfully positive changes and can only be because of the lovely Yan.

I can guarantee that you will fall in Love with Yan, and not only because he is a gorgeous man but because of who he is as a person. He is kind and caring and doesn't give his love away easily. He like Ellen has some torturous secrets to bare and when you discover what they are it only makes you feel for him more.

I must warn you before you read this book, there is a wonderfully steamy sex scene that could give Jackie Collins a run for her money. Read this book with a cold beverage on hand and a fan. As Marilyn Monroe once sang, 'Some Like It Hot'!

Ellen and Yan could not be more perfect for each other and towards the end of the book my heart spent a lot of time in my throat. There were times when I genuinely thought things weren't going to work out and I could feel my heart breaking for these two. But things have a funny way of changing direction when you least expect it.

While this is a romantic comedy there are real life issues that are dealt with in this story from a different kind of sibling rivalry to lost parents and difficult fathers. From education to theft and fraud. But each topic is dealt with a sensitive heart and really adds to the depth and humanity of each of the people in this story.

What Mandy created with this book is a wonderfully romantic story that will have you gripped until the very last page. The last scene in the book is a very special one and I must admit it had me welling up just a little bit. Yes, I am a big softy and proud of it.

This is the first book that I have read by Mandy Baggot and I can guarantee it will not be my last. She is a gifted writer who has the ability to transport her readers into wonderful worlds of romance, drama and comedy.

The characters become your friends and you don't feel like you're reading a book you feel as if you are involved somehow in the misadventures of these fabulous people.

A truly wonderful book that I was very sad to finish.

I gave this fabulous book a summery 10/10

This book is released on the 22nd May, to pre-order click the link below:



To keep up to date with the world of Mandy Baggot, please check out the links below:


As always you can find and follow me via my social media links:

 
I can almost feel you all booking holidays to Corfu now, don't forget to pack some good books. Happy Reading.

1 comments: